What Have I Been Up To?

Wow! What a busy past few weeks! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and New Year!

Where have I been? Well we just finished moving to a rental house! I have a huge closet that is my new cosplay space for the time that we’re here. I have been busy packing and unpacking these past few weeks, so I haven’t been able to sew much!

That being said, I have made 2 things since I last posted!

photo-1
Yes, that is Clone Trooper bedsheet fabric. :)

The first was my first corset that I started making during the beginning of my Christmas break. I used a purchased pattern, but I took out the side zipper and changed it to eyelets in the back so that it laces. I used zip ties for boning and it worked pretty well! I love the way the corset feels when I wear it. The pattern was good for me to learn basic corset construction so I will know how to draft my own patterns for things in the future. :)

photo 1-1
Who could this be for? ;)

The second thing I’ve been working on is a mockup top for my next cosplay! I’ve decided to keep it a surprise, however I will say that it is Disney! I purchased my fabric earlier this week for $22! Very very excited about the low price of this cosplay! My wig should cost about $45 and then I might need a few other little things, but all in all this cosplay is going to be less than $80! Very happy. :) As an added bonus, this cosplay should only take about 4 weekends or so to make! That’s pretty darn fast for me because of the demands of school! Haha. When there are no petticoats of doom involved, cosplay can be pretty quick!

photo 3-1
The work I did on the mockup blouse  before the move.

I’m trying to modify my Alice bodice pattern for the blouse top my character wears, however I think I may need to draft my own pattern. The way the darts were made on the dress bodice pattern just weren’t meant for a blouse! I made a prototype, but it wasn’t quite working. I did alter the neckline on the dress pattern to match my character and it turned out really well, so yay!
I did make a pretty successful sleeve pattern by modifying my already modified Alice sleeve. I changed it from short to long sleeve and I’m pretty happy with it! I’m currently tweaking it a tiny bit more and then it will be good to go. Yay!

photo

My blouse has also been my first time experimenting with a rotary cutter! I asked for one for Christmas as I have seen many seamstresses using them. Basically, its a round blade that you use to cut out pattern pieces on top of a mat: no pins required! It makes cutting out fabric go so much faster, so I have really enjoyed using it! Cuts down on hours of time!

photo 2

I will keep you updated as updates are available! I just finished unpacking my sewing materials and am looking forward to a new cosplay space while in the rental house! I will have some time to sew for the first time in forever this weekend (anyone catch that reference?), so I will try and do a quick update post Sunday evening so you can see what I’ve done. :) I have tons of awesome stuff planned for the coming months and a few big surprises! Can’t wait to share all about it!

Just keep swimming!
Taria

I’d rather attempt to do something great and fail than to attempt to do nothing and succeed.”

Robert H. Schuller

Leave a comment